The matter is currently under investigation and will hopefully be resolved soon, however i suggest you take the obvious precautions to protect yourself.
Firefox or a modified hosts file is your best bet at protecting yourself for now.
The banner spoken of, originates from "ad.yieldmanager.com", and will produce a redirect to "xpantivirus.com".
The exact source and origin is a little more complicated than that however.
Hopefully the matter will be resolved soon.
Until then, consider yourself warned.
Random Ravings : Why pay for something you can get for free?
Guides, rants, news and info. Just check it out when you're bored sometime.
Edited 1 times in total, last edited by BBR, 10 March 2008, 14:20
this troyan is there for more then week (it is up @ wowhead from 25 feb), tbh i even sent a priv msg to Teza, however it looks he ignored it completely
anyway: just avoid wowhead and you will have no problems
I recently killed a trojan that's been on my system for over a year.
I had norton running and updated for longer than that, and it couldn't find it.
However, that was a different trojan, and probably what highjacked my icq account back in the days. I still changed my passwords just in case.
I wasn't in an experimenting mood when it comes to a warcraft trojan though, so not sure if your every day scanner will pick up on this one.
Best not to risk it.
Random Ravings : Why pay for something you can get for free?
Guides, rants, news and info. Just check it out when you're bored sometime.
Edited 1 times in total, last edited by BBR, 10 March 2008, 15:28
A proper hosts file should block off most advertisers.
Adblock plus requires you to actually right click an ad to block it correct?
You won't be able to do that with this one, which is why wowhead is having as much trouble blocking it themselves.
Random Ravings : Why pay for something you can get for free?
Guides, rants, news and info. Just check it out when you're bored sometime.